Answers to General Questions or Problems asked frequently by users

 

Q: How can I keep my iTunes on two computers ?

All your tunes are saved in your "iTunes Library". This library is actually a large number of nested files and folders, although it looks like a single file.

Synchronize! Pro X will keep all the files and folders the same on two different computers, so that you can have your entire iTunes library available to you on either computer with a minimum of fuss.

The steps below describe how to keep your iTunes on two computers. It is assumed that you are using Leopard (OS X 10.5). There may be small differences in how this is done on other versions of OS X, but the ideas are the same.

Get all your iTunes on one primary computer.

To get your iTunes in sync, first get all your tunes on one computer. There is no way to automatically merge two computers with different tunes - if they are different, you'll need to export the tunes from one computer and import them to the other.

  1. Connect to the second computer using File Sharing. If you've not done this before, you'll need to go to the second computer and check "File Sharing" on the "Sharing" pane of the System Preferences.
  2. Make sure the two computers are connected to the same network. You can't connect to a computer using File Sharing if they aren't on the same network. The two most common networks are wireless or wired Ethernet. Wired Ethernet (100 base T) is much faster.
  3. Once File Sharing is enabled, the second computer should appear in the left-hand column of every Finder window, in the "SHARED" section. If it doesn't show up, recheck your steps or consult with a friend who is familiar with File Sharing. Click the name of the second computer to show its disks.
  4. Click the "Connect As..." button. Enter your login name and password for the second computer.
  5. Click the name of the home folder on the second computer. You should see the contents of the home folder on the second computer.

Backup your iTunes from your primary computer to the second computer

  1. Open Synchronize! Pro X on your primary computer. You do not need to open Synchronize! Pro X on the second computer.
  2. Use the File menu to choose New.
  3. Click Backup.
  4. Click OK.
  5. Click the icon labeled "Folder A".
  6. Find the iTunes library in your Home folder. This should be the iTunes library that contains all your iTunes. Your Home folder has an icon that looks like a little house. The iTunes library will be inside the "Music" folder. It will have the name "iTunes Library".
  7. Click the icon labeled "Folder B".
  8. Find the iTunes library on the shared disk from your second computer. To do this, click on the shared disk in the left-hand column of the window, then navigate to the "Users" folder, then your home folder (the home folder will *not* have an icon that looks like a little house, and it will have a name which matches your login name).
  9. This is important. Make sure that iTunes is not running on either computer.
  10. Click the Backup button.
  11. Once the "Files To Copy" window appears, click the "Start" button. Let the backup run until it finishes..

After you've accomplished these steps, the tunes are the same on both computers. You can verify this by opening iTunes on the second computer. If you do this, remember to quit iTunes before using Synchronize! Pro X to sync the iTunes libraries.

Change the setup to a "Synchronization" and save it

Once you have the iTunes the same on both computers, you should do this:

  1. Change the Setup type popup menu to Synchronization.
  2. Check the Re-open at startup box.
  3. Save the setup, because you'll be using it over and over again.
  4. Use the File menu to choose Save.
  5. Give the setup a name, like "Sync iTunes". Save it to your Documents folder (you can put it anywhere else if you like).
  6. Run the sync one more time, even if you've not made any changes. This allows Synchronize! Pro X to know whether files are deleted from either folder.

Sync any time you change tunes on one of the computers

It's important to realize that you *must* sync any time you change your tunes on one computer. If you change the tunes on both computers, you should repeat the steps for getting all your iTunes on one computer.

To summarize, you can use your iTunes on both computers any time you want. Once you make changes (adding, moving, renaming or deleting tunes) on one computer, you *must* sync before making any changes on the other computer.

To sync the two computers, do this:

  1. Open Synchronize! Pro X. The setup for your sync should be opened automatically.
  2. Click the Sync button.
  3. When the "Files To Copy" window appears, click the "Start" button. If you prefer not to see the list of files to be copied, uncheck the "Show files to copy" box.
  4. When the sync is done, quit Synchronize! Pro X.
 
Site design by Guru Designs